Historic Preservation Commission


Duties & Responsibilities

The Prince George’s County Historic Preservation Commission (HPC), appointed by the County Executive, administers the provisions of the county’s historic preservation ordinance and preservation tax credit program. The HPC’s responsibility is to protect the properties listed in the County Inventory of Historic Resources. As a result of the protection afforded by the ordinance, today, there are 461 historic sites and four locally designated historic districts. 102 individual properties and 20 historic districts are listed on the National Register of Historic Places.



  • 6:30 p.m.
  • 3rd Tuesday of every month
  • These meetings will be held virtually until further notice. Access information can be found here.

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available before the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

Jurisdiction & Representatives

The nine-member Historic Preservation Commission has countywide jurisdiction (excluding the City of Laurel), with appointed representatives from several organizations and interests: Prince George’s County Association of Realtors, municipal governance, Prince George’s County Historical and Cultural Trust, and the minority building industry. Other appointees are selected because of demonstrated special interest, knowledge or training in fields such as history, architecture, architectural history, archeology, anthropology, agriculture, and historic preservation or background from the fields of commerce, building/preservation-restoration, and law.